Labeeb Reference · dated rules, programme seasons and hiring cycles · last verified 25 September 2026 · informational, not legal advice
GCC Career Calendar 2026–2028: localisation deadlines, hiring seasons, programme windows and licence renewals
The next two years in the Gulf contain fixed dates that change who gets hired, when, and on what terms. Saudi Arabia raises localisation rates profession by profession on published dates. The UAE checks private-sector Emiratisation targets every 30 June and 31 December. Graduate programmes at the largest employers open for days, not months. Professional licences expire on cycles that are easy to miss. Job search itself has a season. This page puts those dates on one calendar for three readers: Saudi and Emirati nationals deciding where opportunity is expanding; expatriate professionals in a pr
This page puts those dates on one calendar for three readers: Saudi and Emirati nationals deciding where opportunity is expanding; expatriate professionals in a profession a localisation decision touches; and students planning a programme application. It is information for planning, not legal, immigration or compliance advice. Each row names the official source checked; the final reference is the ministry text and your establishment’s status on Qiwa (Saudi Arabia) or MoHRE/Nafis (UAE).
Last verified: 25 September 2026.
Related Labeeb references: Saudization Tracker, Emiratisation Tracker, Changing or leaving a job in the UAE and Saudi Arabia, Gulf pre-arrival checker.
Master calendar (sorted by date)
Rows dated before 25 September 2026 are already in force and are included so you can see the ladder.
| Date | Country | What changes | Who it affects | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 17 Apr 2025 (in force) | Saudi Arabia | Four health professions, phase 1: radiology 65%, medical laboratories 70%, clinical nutrition 80%, physiotherapy 80% | Main cities and giant/large establishments; minimum wage SAR 7,000 (bachelor’s), SAR 5,000 (technician) | HRSD decision statement |
| 27 Jul 2025 (in force) | Saudi Arabia | Pharmacy professions: 35% community pharmacies and medical complexes, 65% hospital pharmacies, 55% other pharmacy activities | 5+ workers in pharmacy professions | HRSD procedural guide (pharmacy) |
| 27 Jul 2025 (in force) | Saudi Arabia | Dentistry, phase 1: 45% | Private dental establishments | HRSD procedural guide (dentistry) |
| 17 Oct 2025 (in force) | Saudi Arabia | Four health professions, phase 2: same rates, all establishments, all regions | All private health establishments | HRSD |
| 27 Oct 2025 (in force) | Saudi Arabia | Accounting professions (44), phase 1: 40% | 5+ workers in accounting professions; minimum wage SAR 6,000 (bachelor’s), SAR 4,500 (diploma); Ministerial Decision 103108 | HRSD; SPA w2429184 |
| 1 Jan 2026 (in force) | UAE | Emirati private-sector minimum wage AED 6,000/month applies to new, renewed and amended work permits; contributions for missed 2025 targets collected from January 2026 | Employers of Emiratis; 50+ firms that missed 2025 targets | MoHRE 31 Dec 2025; MoHRE 27 Oct 2025 |
| Jan 2026 (in force) | Saudi Arabia | Nitaqat: new three-year phase targeting 340,000+ additional localised jobs (programme target, not a profession rate) | All private establishments by activity and size | SPA N2495711 |
| 27 Jan 2026 (in force) | Saudi Arabia | Dentistry, phase 2: 55% | 3+ workers in dental specialties; minimum wage SAR 9,000; valid SCFHS classification | HRSD phase-2 statement |
| 5 Apr 2026 (in force) | Saudi Arabia | Administrative support professions: 69 professions added at 100% (secretarial, clerical, translation, data entry, admin support) | Any establishment with 1+ worker in the listed professions; Ministerial Decision 132249 | HRSD node/5580248; SPA N2553664 |
| 19 Apr 2026 (in force) | Saudi Arabia | Marketing and sales professions: 60% each (announced 19 Jan 2026, three-month grace) | 3+ workers in marketing or sales professions; minimum wage SAR 5,500 in marketing | HRSD |
| 22 Apr 2026 (in force) | Saudi Arabia | Tourism, phase 1 (28 professions): 100% for four, 70% for twelve, 50% for twelve | Tourism-sector establishments | HRSD; SPA N2303099 |
| 31 May 2026 (in force) | Saudi Arabia | Procurement professions (12): 70% | 3+ workers in the targeted professions | HRSD; SPA N2604310 |
| 30 Jun 2026 (passed) | UAE | H1 Emiratisation checkpoint: +1% of skilled roles held by Emiratis; last day to raise existing Emirati salaries to AED 6,000 | Private firms with 50+ employees | WAM/MoHRE 22 Jun 2026; MoHRE 31 Dec 2025 |
| 30 Jun 2026 (in force) | Saudi Arabia | Engineering professions (46): 30%; Ministerial Decision 93483 of 31 Dec 2025 | 5+ workers in the listed professions; SCE professional accreditation required; a minimum GOSI-registered wage applies, see the HRSD procedural guide for the figure | HRSD news and procedural guide (engineering) |
| 1 Jul 2026 (in force) | UAE | Contribution of AED 10,000 per month (AED 120,000 per year) per unfilled Emirati position begins for H1 shortfalls; Emiratis still paid under AED 6,000 excluded from target counts; new work permits suspended for non-compliant firms | 50+ firms | WAM/MoHRE 22 Jun 2026; MoHRE 31 Dec 2025 |
| 26 Oct – 2 Nov 2026 | Saudi Arabia | Aramco University Internship and Vocational College Internship applications open (08:00 on 26 Oct to 15:00 on 2 Nov) | Enrolled Saudi students, GPA 2.0 technical / 2.5 non-technical | aramco.com |
| 27 Oct 2026 | Saudi Arabia | Accounting professions, phase 2: 50% | 5+ workers in accounting professions | HRSD procedural guide (Apr 2026) |
| 31 Dec 2026 | UAE | H2 Emiratisation checkpoint: second +1% (2% for the year) and the end-point of the 2022–2026 Cabinet ladder (10% of skilled roles). Contributions for the shortfall follow from January 2027 on the established pattern. No post-2026 regime published on verify day | 50+ firms | WAM/MoHRE 22 Jun 2026; MoHRE 6 Jan 2023; MoHRE 27 Oct 2025 |
| 31 Dec 2026 | Qatar | Qatar Airways Al Darb Graduate Development Programme: check the official careers listing for the current deadline and cycle | Qatari nationals and children of Qatari mothers | careers.qatarairways.com (official page not machine-readable on verify day) |
| 3 Jan 2027 | Saudi Arabia | Tourism, phase 2: 30% for one profession | Tourism-sector establishments | HRSD; SPA |
| 18 Jan 2027 | Saudi Arabia | Aramco university/vocational internship term begins (orientation 17 Jan) | Selected interns | aramco.com |
| 8 Feb – 8 Mar 2027 (expected) | GCC | Ramadan 1448: reduced working hours, hiring slows; Eid al-Fitr expected 9 Mar 2027 | All | Umm al-Qura calendar (1 Ramadan 1448 = 8 Feb 2027) as reproduced by hijri-gregorian.com and makkahlive.net; subject to moon sighting |
| 14 Feb 2027 | Saudi Arabia | Project management professions (3): 70% | 3+ workers, counted at entity level | HRSD; SPA N2654541 |
| 27 Oct 2027 | Saudi Arabia | Accounting professions, phase 3: 60% | 5+ workers | HRSD procedural guide |
| 2 Jan 2028 | Saudi Arabia | Tourism, phase 3: 50% for 12 leadership professions | Tourism-sector establishments | HRSD; SPA |
| 27 Oct 2028 | Saudi Arabia | Accounting professions, phase 4: 70% | 5+ workers | HRSD procedural guide |
Earlier Saudi decisions still in force for the same readers:
| Decision | Rate | Scope | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Customer service professions (on-site and remote) | 100% for Arabic or English customer-service roles and customer-service centre operations managers; minimum wage SAR 5,500 (bachelor’s) | All establishments covered by the procedural guide | HRSD node/1171692 |
| Communications and IT professions | At least 25% per job family | 5+ workers in these roles | HRSD 841823 |
A. Saudi Arabia: localisation steps by profession
Three conditions decide whether a Saudi employee counts toward a rate, and they matter more than the headline percentage:
- Wage floor: each decision sets a minimum GOSI-registered wage (for example SAR 6,000 for a bachelor’s-level accountant, SAR 9,000 for a dentist, SAR 5,500 in marketing and customer service). Below the floor, the employee does not count.
- Professional accreditation: engineering (SCE), dentistry and the health professions (SCFHS) require a valid classification.
- Threshold: the decision applies only where the establishment has the stated number of workers in that profession (1, 3 or 5). Check the job title on Qiwa, not the business card.
For expatriates in a covered profession: the decision binds the establishment to a ratio; it does not cancel individual contracts. The effect lands on renewals and transfers once the establishment exceeds the non-Saudi share. In a firm with 10 accountants, the non-Saudi ceiling is 6 today, 5 from October 2026, 4 from October 2027 and 3 from October 2028.
B. UAE: Emiratisation checkpoints
| Date | What is checked | Amount / rule | Official source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 30 June each year (30 Jun 2026 passed) | +1% of skilled roles held by Emiratis, first half | Contributions from 1 July: AED 10,000 per month, AED 120,000 per year, per unfilled position (2026 rate) | WAM/MoHRE 22 Jun 2026 |
| 31 December each year | +1% second half, 2% for the year | Contributions collected from the following January (2025 example: from 1 Jan 2026) | MoHRE 27 Oct 2025 |
| 31 Dec 2026 | End of the 2022–2026 ladder: 2% a year toward 10% of skilled roles | Contribution ladder: AED 6,000/month in 2022, rising AED 1,000 a year to 2026 (hence AED 10,000 in 2026). What applies from 2027 is not yet published | MoHRE 6 Jan 2023 (Cabinet decision); MoHRE 22 Jun 2026 |
| 1 Jan 2026 (in force) | Emirati salary floor for work permits | AED 6,000/month on new, renewed and amended permits; existing salaries to be adjusted by 30 Jun 2026; from 1 Jul 2026 unadjusted Emiratis do not count toward targets and new permits are suspended | MoHRE 31 Dec 2025 |
| 20–49-employee firms, 14 sectors | One Emirati hired in 2024, another in 2025 | AED 96,000 (2024 miss, collected from Jan 2025), AED 108,000 (2025 miss, collected Jan 2026). MoHRE’s releases state obligations through 2025 only; check the MoHRE guidance portal for any 2026 step | MoHRE 2 Jan 2024; MoHRE 27 Oct 2025 |
For an Emirati professional: demand from 50+ firms steps up in the weeks before 30 June and 31 December, and roles must carry at least AED 6,000 to count. For an expatriate: the quota is counted against skilled roles, not headcount; the direct effect is on which openings are reserved, not on existing contracts.
C. When people search for jobs: the seasonal pattern
Source: Labeeb search-behaviour analysis, September 2026. Method: Google Trends five-year monthly index (2021–2026) for the named queries in Saudi Arabia and the UAE, averaged by calendar month and scaled so the average month = 100. The index shows relative interest, not job openings.
| Query and market | Peak months (index) | Trough months (index) | Read-across |
|---|---|---|---|
| سيرة ذاتية (CV), Saudi Arabia | Sep 120, Oct 118, Aug 115, Jan 112 | Mar 79 | Late-summer to autumn season plus a January restart |
| “jobs”, UAE (English) | Jan 109, Jul 108, Sep 106 | Mar–Apr and Jun ≈ 92–93 | Three waves: new year, post-summer, September |
| “internship”, UAE | May–Jul 120–125 | Oct–Nov | Summer internship search starts in May |
| تدريب تعاوني (co-op training), Saudi Arabia | May 126, Nov 120, Jan 117 | (between cycles) | Matches university semester ends |
| Ramadan effect, both markets | — | Mar–Apr 2023–2026 | Ramadan 2027 expected 8 Feb–8 Mar; expect the trough to move to February–early March |
Planning use: apply in the two to four weeks before a peak, not during it; keep documents current before the January and September waves.
D. Graduate programme and assessment windows (official statements only)
| Programme | Window / season | Eligibility summary | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aramco College Degree Program for Non-Employees (CDPNE), 2025–26 cycle | Qiyas update deadline 23 Apr 2026; English/Math screening 1–2 May; CPP waiver docs by 1 Jun; career fair 3–4 Jun; start 2 Aug. Registration “currently closed”, announced annually | Saudi grade-12 students/recent graduates; ≥85% cumulative and in math/science; GAT ≥90%; age ≤22 Hijri | Official (aramco.com) |
| Aramco Apprenticeship Program for Non-Employees (APNE) | Registration closed; dates “announced concurrently with the application opening” | Saudi high-school graduates; GPA ≥75; GAT ≥72; age ≤24 Hijri | Official (aramco.com) |
| Aramco University Internship / Vocational College Internship | Apply 26 Oct 2026 08:00 – 2 Nov 2026 15:00; orientation 17 Jan 2027, start 18 Jan 2027; minimum eight weeks | Enrolled, not graduated; GPA 2.0 (technical) / 2.5 (non-technical) | Official (aramco.com) |
| Aramco Summer Training / Tomooh (high school) | 2026 cycle: registration closed 15 Feb 2026 15:00; Tomooh 5 Jul–6 Aug 2026; Summer Training 19 Jul–6 Aug 2026. No 2027 dates published | Grades 10–12, age ≤22; Tomooh needs IELTS/TOEFL/STEP | Official (aramco.com) |
| Tamheer (HRDF graduate on-the-job training) | Rolling: monthly financial cycle 18th to 17th; trainer-preparation window 13th–17th each month | Saudi graduates, age ≤30 | Official (hrdf.org.sa) |
| PIF Graduate Development Program | Annual; graduation years 2024–2026 eligible for the current cohort; next window announced on pif.gov.sa/careers | Saudi; GPA ≥3.75/5 or ≥2.75/4; IELTS ≥6.0 or equivalent (2025+ certificates) | Official (pif.gov.sa); no dated window published |
| NEOM GrOW | No published window; check neom.com GrOW page | Saudi; ≤28; 0–2 years’ experience; GPA ≥3.5/4 | Official page; no dated window published |
| ADNOC Accelerator Program | Event-driven (Town Hall, then Career Day); no fixed window | Emirati; National Service completed or exempt | Official (jobs.adnoc.ae) |
| Emirates cabin crew assessment/open days | Continuous, city-by-city; schedule on the official careers page | ≥21; reach 212 cm; ≥1 year customer service | Official (emiratesgroupcareers.com) |
| Qatar Airways Al Darb GDP | Two-year programme; current listing on careers.qatarairways.com | Qatari nationals / children of Qatari mothers, 20–28; bachelor’s degree | Official page not machine-readable on verify day; confirm deadline on the listing |
| Saudi Health Holding cluster intake | 3,150 roles opened 3 Mar 2026; one cluster per applicant | Saudi; valid SCFHS classification | Official (health.sa; SPA N2523689); next round not announced |
E. Licence and registration renewal cycles
| Body / licence | Validity | Renewal rule | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| SCFHS professional registration (Saudi Arabia, Mumaris Plus) | Two years | CPD hours at renewal: 20 technicians, 40 specialists, 40 pharmacists, 60 doctors. Incomplete hours: one-time one-year renewal. Expired >1 year = new registration | Official: scfhs.org.sa Mumaris FAQ; re-registration requirements page |
| Saudi Council of Engineers membership | Chosen at renewal, 1–3 years (SAR 250/year engineers, SAR 200/year technicians) | Renewal can be submitted three months before expiry. Professional classification degree has its own renewal cycle: see saudieng.sa “Classification Renew Conditions” | saudieng.sa FAQ (Registration); Classification Renew Conditions (pages not machine-readable on verify day) |
| DHA professional licence (Dubai, Sheryan) | 1, 2 or 3 years at the professional’s choice | CPD per year: physicians and dentists 40 points, nurses 20, pharmacists 20, allied health and TCAM 10; multiplied by licence length; under-achievement blocks renewal. Six consecutive months without practice invalidates the licence | Official: DHA Manual for Licensing Healthcare Professionals v1.2 (PDF); DHA CPD service page |
| DOH professional licence (Abu Dhabi, TAMM) | Set per licence (“Renewal Date” on the document) | Apply at least 90 days before the renewal date, up to six months in advance; unrenewed licence is automatically suspended, reinstatement carries delay fines; annual CPD required | Official: DOH Healthcare Professionals Manual (PDF) |
| MOHAP professional licence (Northern Emirates) | Not stated on the service page; see the licence document | CME in the same specialty required; clean professional record; government-facility licences renew automatically on expiry; fees AED 3,000 doctors, AED 1,000 nurses/technicians/pharmacists (private); processed in one working day | Official: mohap.gov.ae “Renewal of Health Professional License” |
| UAE teacher licence (MoE TLS) | Not stated on official pages found; see the licence document | Renewal includes a professional achievement portfolio assessment (AED 100); licence is a prerequisite to teach in UAE schools; transitional licence path on moe.gov.ae | Official: moe.gov.ae TLS fee announcement; tls.moe.gov.ae |
Practical rule: put the expiry date in your calendar with a 90-day reminder. Every regulator above requires or recommends starting renewal about three months out, and CPD hours cannot be earned in the final week.
FAQ
Which Saudi localisation dates fall in the next 12 months?
27 October 2026 (accounting to 50%), 3 January 2027 (tourism phase 2), 14 February 2027 (project management 70%). Engineering (30%), procurement (70%), marketing and sales (60%) and the 69 administrative professions (100%) are already in force.
When are the UAE Emiratisation deadlines?
30 June and 31 December each year for firms with 50 or more employees, each requiring a 1% rise in Emiratis in skilled roles (2% a year). From 1 July 2026 the contribution for each unfilled position is AED 10,000 per month. What applies after 31 December 2026 has not been published.
Does a Saudization decision cancel an expatriate’s contract?
No. It sets a ratio for the establishment. The effect shows at permit renewal or transfer once the establishment exceeds the non-Saudi share, and only where it meets the worker threshold (1, 3 or 5).
What is the best month to apply for jobs in the UAE?
Search interest peaks in January, July and September and dips in March–April and June. Apply in the fortnight before a peak; expect slower responses during Ramadan (expected 8 February to 8 March 2027).
When does Aramco open student applications?
University and vocational internships: 26 October to 2 November 2026. CDPNE and APNE: windows are announced on aramco.com each cycle.
How often do I renew an SCFHS registration?
Every two years, with 20 to 60 CPD hours depending on category. If hours are short, a one-year renewal is allowed once.
How many CPD points does a DHA licence need?
Per year: 40 for physicians and dentists, 20 for nurses and pharmacists, 10 for allied health and TCAM, multiplied by the licence length you choose.
Are these dates guaranteed?
No. Ministries amend decisions, and religious dates depend on moon sighting. Confirm anything that affects a real decision with the issuing body.
Related guides: pay, packages and offers in the UAE and Saudi Arabia. How these pages are researched and checked: editorial standards.
Sources (verified 25 September 2026)
- Saudi localisation: HRSD news and procedural guides (admin professions node/5580248; accounting; engineering news + procedural guide, Decision 93483; marketing/sales; procurement; project management; pharmacy; dentistry; health professions; customer service node/1171692; ICT 841823); SPA N2553664, w2429184, N2481123, N2604310, N2654541, N2303099, N2495711. Full source list on the Saudization Tracker.
- UAE Emiratisation: mohre.gov.ae news 6 Jan 2023 (Cabinet decision: 2%/yr, 10% by end-2026, AED 6,000/month rising AED 1,000/yr to 2026); 2 Jan 2024 (20–49 employees); 27 Oct 2025 (2025 targets); 31 Dec 2025 (AED 6,000 minimum wage); WAM 22 Jun 2026 “MoHRE reaffirms June 30 deadline” (wam.ae/en/article/c0uqocb).
- Seasonality: Labeeb search-behaviour analysis, Sep 2026. Ramadan 1448: Umm al-Qura calendar via hijri-gregorian.com and makkahlive.net (official umq.kacst.gov.sa not machine-readable).
- Programmes: aramco.com student-opportunities pages; hrdf.org.sa Tamheer; pif.gov.sa/en/careers/graduate-development-program; neom.com GrOW; jobs.adnoc.ae; emiratesgroupcareers.com; health.sa; careers.qatarairways.com (403 on fetch).
- Licensing: scfhs.org.sa Mumaris FAQ; saudieng.sa FAQ and Classification Renew Conditions (hung on fetch); DHA licensing manual v1.2 and CPD page; DOH Healthcare Professionals Manual; mohap.gov.ae renewal service page; moe.gov.ae TLS pages.